Preface

This volume represents the supplementary proceedings of the Fifth International Conference on Quantitative Ethnography (ICQE23). This year's event represents the first ICQE in Australasia, following 2022's inaugural European event (Copenhagen, ICQE22), two years online (ICQE20-21), and the ICQE launch in North America (Madison, ICQE19). As part of the spirit of open community, the conference has always included both a formal Springer published proceedings and these supplementary proceedings to provide a range of submission types, and thus ways for authors to disseminate their work.

The conference and wider community as fostered through the International Society for Quantitative Ethnography (ISQE) provides a forum for discussion regarding Quantitative Ethnography (QE), its data, methods, and applications, for returning and new scholars, across disciplines.

These supplementary proceedings comprise 10 Doctoral Consortium applications, 29 Posters, 2 Workshops, 2 Symposia, and 23 Research Agenda Development (RAD) proposals. These were presented alongside the 33 full papers accepted at the conference, published in the Springer Proceedings. The interdisciplinarity of the field can be seen across the submissions received, and in the authorship collaborations. The manuscripts also demonstrate the interest in this new methodology amongst emerging scholars and in developing research agendas. Of the full papers, 20 were 'student paper' submissions, with 10 Doctoral Consortia submissions and more among the wider submissions. The RADs – a new submission type this year – provide a forum at the conference for discussion regarding future research directions across the field, and its theoretical and methodological underpinnings, while facilitating international and interdisciplinary collaborations. As we describe in the Springer proceedings, and paralleled here, the submissions draw on a range of data types, from contexts that include formal education, workplace and online settings among others. The submissions reflect three core themes, often making contributions across them: learning and learners; society, culture, identity and justice; and advances in QA methodologies.

- Learning and Learners: These submissions focus on Modeling Learners'
 Perspectives and Knowledge, Behavior and Multi-Modal Analyses, and
 applications of QE in STEM Education and Games and Digital Spaces for
 learning.
- Society, Culture, Identity, and Justice: These submissions focus on Narratives
 and Identities in Education, as well as approaches to Modeling Identities and
 Narrative in wider context, and QE as a lens onto Speech and Culture, with a
 strand of papers investigating applications of QE in Equity and Social Justice.
- Advances in QE Methodologies: These submissions included Comparing and Combining Modeling Tools, Innovations in Coding Tools and Coding approaches, and Teaching QE, sometimes drawing on data from learning contexts in their investigations towards methodological advancement.

ICQE: CONFERENCE AND COMMUNITY

The QE community is developed through, and reflected in, the range of contributions at ICQE, in terms of the topics covered, sources and contexts of data, the core contributions made, and the submission types, with the community seeking to provide an inclusive space for both new and experienced QE researchers.

We would like to thank all authors across the ICQE submission types, and continue to invite researchers into the QE community, previous authors and new. We would also like to thank the reviewers, program committee members, and others in the QE community who have supported the conference. The program chairs would like to acknowledge support from ISQE and the National Science Foundation in the United States. We are particularly grateful to the local chairs and organizers for their work in planning the conference and welcoming ICQE to Melbourne.

September 2023

[Golnaz Arastoopour Irgens] [Simon Knight]

Organization

Program Chair

Golnaz Arastoopour Irgens Clemson University, USA

Program Co-Chair

Simon Knight University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Conference Chair

Mike Phillips Monash University, Australia

Program Committee

Ishari Amarasinghe Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain Victoria University, Australia Aneesha Bakharia University of Queensland, Australia

Simon Buckingham

Shum University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Linda Corrin Deakin University, Australia

Cynthia D'Angelo University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Srecko Joksimovic University of South Australia, Australia Vitomir Kovanović University of South Australia, Australia

Kamila Misiejuk University of Bergen, Norway
Marcia Moraes Colorado State University, USA
Valentina Nachtigall Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany

Luc Pacquette University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Natasa Pantic University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Vitaliy Popov University of Michigan, USA Karoline Schnaider Umeå Universitet, Sweden

JooYoung Seo University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Conference Committee

Ibrahim Oluwajoba Adisa Clemson University, USA
Cinamon Bailey Clemson University, USA
Amanda Barany Drexel University, USA

Brendan Eagan University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Danielle Espino Pepperdine University, USA Tolulope Famaye Clemson University, USA César Hinojosa University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA YJ Kim University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Caitlin Lancaster Clemson University, USA
Katherine Mulholland Clemson University, USA
Deepika Sistla Clemson University, USA
Ian Thompson Clemson University, USA

David Williamson

Shaffer University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Additional Reviewers

Jonathon Sun Szilárd Kovács Jennifer Scianna Seung Lee Letitia Lee Zheng Fang Ayano Ohsaki Jennifer Kornell Stephanie Rivera-Kumar Jamie Boisvenue Sabrina Gao Tyler Andres-Bray Shen Ba Aziz Awaludin Sheri Mackey Eric Hamilton Tongguang Li Yujung Seol Amanda Peel Ward Peeters Juhan Kim Ruth Akumbu Mamta Shah Rogers Kaliisa Hendra Agustian Mariah Knowles Dorottya Árva Krirk Nirunwiroj

Adina Goldstein Haiying Li Liv Nøhr Luis Felipe Martinez-Gomez

Zachari Swiecki Kristina Lux Virginia Clark Jae Han Juan Pinto Jade Pratt Andy Stoiber Amalia Dache Yeyu Wang Vinay Mallikaarjun Andrew Ruis Sadaf Ghaffari Andres Zambrano Zhiqiang Cai Theerapong Binali Yuanru Tan Xiner Liu Jun Lu

Anggi Irawan