Recent Changes In International Taxation And Double Tax Agreements In Russia

Atax, UNSW
Publication Type:
Journal Article
eJournal of Tax Research, 2011, 9 (3), pp. 339 - 352
Issue Date:
Full metadata record
Files in This Item:
Filename Description Size
Thumbnail2011003633OK.pdf140.71 kB
Adobe PDF
The Russian Federation inherited a confusing and inefficient tax system after the breakup of the Soviet Union in 1991. However since then, the Russian tax system has been significantly reformed. In the 1990s, businesses and individuals were generally reluctant to pay taxes promptly, if at all. The restructuring of the tax system was designed to rationalise the tax burden, improve the collection of taxes, and to generally align the system with those in developed market economies. Currently, the principal taxes collected at the federal level are corporate tax (20% on worldwide income), capital gains tax, personal income tax (13% flat tax), social contribution taxes, value added tax (VAT) (standard rate 18%), excise taxes, securities tax (0.8% on nominal value), customs duties and fees, and federal license fees. Russia is also a party to a number of double taxation agreements (DTA) with various countries.
Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: